The Eye of the Storm (2011)

The Eye of the Storm (2011)

Released: 2011
Genre: Drama, Genre
Director: Fred Schepisi
Starring: Geoffrey Rush, Maria Theodorakis, Charlotte Rampling, ,
Run time: 114 min
IMDb: 6.1/10
Country: Australia
Views: 105507


Elizabeth Hunter controls all in her life – society, her staff, her children; but the once great beauty will now determine her most defiant act as she chooses her time to die.
User Reviews: THE EYE OF THE STORM is the story of a dying matriarch and her estranged adult children, both of whom have been big disappointments to her. The "kiddies," as she calls them, come home to Sydney on word that their mother is dying. But the bittersweet reunion only stirs up old resentments and disappointments on all sides. Flashbacks fill in the story of the mother as she sinks into dementia.

Superb acting by Charlotte Rampling as the unchanging mother who lavishes her attention (and gifts) on her nurses and housekeeper while dismissing her own children as greedy moochers. Judy Davis plays the uptight Dorothy, a divorced woman who married a prince but retained only the title after her marriage crumbled. Geoffrey Rush plays Basil, the unsuccessful actor whose time for stardom has passed. They both wrangle with the unflinching mother and her lawyer and battle the house staff who treat them as enemies.

It’s a battle of wills (pun intended) as the children fight the mother, who at the last moment tries to change her will to disinherit her own children after she learns of their plan to put her in a home.

The three stars are nothing short of superb. Helen Morse plays Lotte the housekeeper, who entertains the old woman with bits from her old German cabaret act. Alexandra Schepisi plays the nurse with designs on Basil. John Gaden plays the lawyer. Colin Friels plays the sleazy politician.

The location cinematography is gorgeous. Directed by Fred Schepisi, based on a novel by Patrick White.

A long and engrossing film, well worth finding and savoring.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.